Pacific Development and Conservation Trust Grant: Community Projects in the Pacific Islands

The Pacific Development and Conservation Trust is currently inviting proposals from the eligible applicants based in New Zealand and pacific territories for its annual grant program, distributing up to $250,000 as grants, to groups and individuals in the Pacific for a range of development and conservation projects.

The Trust is committed to supporting sustainable development, where communities are engaged and working in partnership, with iwi, hapū, aiga, the local indigenous people and communities.

For more information, please visit

At a Glance

Favorites 0
Comments 0


March 31st, 2016

How to Apply

About This Funding Opportunity

Funding Stats

Point of Contact Email: 
Grant / Award Value: 
Eligibility Type: 

Eligibility Details

The Pacific Development and Conservation Trust funding priorities are projects that:

  • promote social, cultural and economic self-sufficiency;
  • improve legal access to facilities or resources necessary for social, cultural and economic sufficiency;
  • improve health, living standards and quality of life;
  • involve protection of representative, endangered or threatened species;
  • conserve unique habitats or ecosystems;
  • promote the sustainable management and use of natural resources;
  • conserve or restore sites of significant historic, environmental or cultural heritage;
  • raise awareness of, or improve access to, historic, environmental or cultural heritage;
  • develop local communities’ capacities, particularly for indigenous ecological knowledge development;
  • improve cooperation and communication between communities; and
  • encourage peace, security and greater understanding between peoples, cultures and communities.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Applicants must be New Zealand or Pacific citizens.
  • Projects must benefit New Zealand or Pacific countries.

Eligible Pacific Island Countries and Territories (PICTS) are:
American Samoa, Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia (Chuuk, Kosrae, Pohnpei, Yap), Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Wallis and Futuna.


Application Guidance

For application guidance, please refer to